There is no such word as can’t

images (2)

 

When I was a child my Nan (god rest her soul) always told me that there is not such thing as ‘can’t’.  It is not until now that I truly appreciate the true meaning of what she was telling me.  However I am sure that as a child when she would say these words to me I would try even harder.  So why am I telling you this story?  I have just read Kim’s post ‘Encouragement can go a long way in a child’s mind‘ and immediately thought of my Nan’s words.  Upon reflection Kim found herself asking if she used the correct strategies.  I believe she did.  There will always be times when we as teachers we will need to push our students a little bit further, encouraging them to step out of their comfort zone and this is exactly what Kim achieved.

Encouragement goes such a long way and by Kim demonstrating her believe in the student she created self believe for the student. Kim did not push the student too far she offered a reward to the student for having a ‘go’ and the end result, (the student reading their work aloud) is proof that the strategies used were successful.  Kim will know exactly how successful her strategies were by following up and seeing how the student reacts in the same kind of situation in the future.  Thanks for sharing your experience Kim you are going to make a brilliant teacher because you care 🙂 and you told the student in your own way that there is no such thing as ‘can’t ‘.  P.s I now find myself telling my own kids the same thing my Nan told me ha ha ha 🙂

2 thoughts on “There is no such word as can’t

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your kind words. It was nice to read another perspective on this situation and your right – I didn’t push the student to far. This student is very vulnerable and could have been broken if not careful. It was nice to reflect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

