PLN or Chaos?

images (1)

 

If my personal learning network is an informal learning network consisting of the people I interact with and derive knowledge from in my personal learning environment then it would include all of my peers who I have made a connection with over the past two and a half years.   I use my PLN, with the specific intent that some type of learning will occur because of this connection.   Learners create connections and develop a network that contributes to their professional development and knowledge.   As I study online I do not have to know these people personally or ever meet them in person.

My suspicions on just how chaotic this system is  has been confirmed  by George Siemens and Stephen Downes  whose theory of connectivism supports the concept that PLNs are complexed.  Do we create spontaneous order by interacting with one another?  Are our courses complexed or chaotic?  According to Downes when you get multiple dependent variables you get a chaotic system.  Downes goes on to say that these systems do not have a body of knowledge that similarly supports all who are part of any particular PLN,  Therefore my PLN is one that may not always provide me with the knowledge I require and as such will need to become even more complexed as I search for answers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

