Can I do this?

download

 

Today I am taking time to reflect and in doing so find myself realising how far a I have come and how far I still have to travel.  I know reflection is meant to be more on what we have learned in the ICT and pedagogy course itself.  However today I am going beyond this course as I find myself questioning can I do this?  Can I make it through this semester never lone this degree.  As dramatic as that may sound I feel not many people understand these overwhelming feelings unless they are in the same situation.   I have a young family who I feel miss out on quality time with me because I am chained to this laptop.  Running a household, getting kids to extra curricular events, helping to run the farm, volunteering for organisations (schools, girl guides etc.) are just a few things that consume my time.

Don’t get me wrong I am not complaining, what I am saying is 99.9% of the time it is difficult.  I have spoken to many fellow students who also suffer from sleep deprivation, content overload and the sense of guilt for feeling family demands are not being met.  Through this roller coaster ride called ‘obtaining a degree’ I have encountered many emotions.  From worrying if I am smart enough to do it, determination and self doubt when completing assignments, relief and a sense of pride when they are submitted, back to  self doubt if results are bad, elation if they are good.  This is a repeated cycle at the  beginning  of every new semester.

Do I think I can? Most of the time yes but there are times when I question if I can.   What if I do not make it to that lecture?  What if I do not get this assignment finished on time?   What if at the end of this I am a terrible teacher?  Like most teachers and teachers in training I am particular in what and how I do things.  I would not be satisfied with handing in an assignment that I have not given 110%.  So far this semester I have submitted four assignments three of which were due on the same day.  The idea of completing and submitting three assignments on the same day had me questioning, could I do it?  Now I find myself saying yes I could.

You may be wondering is there something Leesa is questioning herself about now.  The answer is yes I have five more assignments to complete as well as practical placement all of which are required around the same date.  So once again I am having a lot of self doubt moments and wondering can I do this?.   To be honest I have no idea but I will give it my best shot.  I can see a very very faint light at the end of the tunnel and feel like the little blue train…..I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

I hope that by sharing this blog  anyone who may also experiencing these emotions knows they are not alone.  Remember…

images

 

And take the time to reflect. Looking at how far you have come can be an inspiration to go further 🙂

purplebutterfly

6 thoughts on “Can I do this?

  1. Oh Leesa, you just made me tear up. You have said exactly what I am feeling to a T! This journey certainly is a roller coaster and I find myself wanting to get off this roller coaster lately. I think the workload we have is huge when you look at our big picture and see that we are not only completing a uni degree, but also working, volunteering, looking after a family and driving the kids around to all of their activities too. I really can’t see how I’m going to complete three assignments before prac, but I’ll give it my best and hope I come through the other side with enough left in the tank to submit two more the week after prac!! We just have to make it to June!! All the best to you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Struggling to get it all done! | loumj

  3. Pingback: End of week 8 | The Weblog of Teresa Daniel

  4. Hi Leesa,

    Your blog really struck a cord with me. You are definitely not alone in your thinking. I’m constantly wondering if I actually have the ability or the willpower to finish this. I thought it would get easier the closer I came to the end of my degree but the stress and pressure is increasing. I worry also about my ability to be an effective teacher when there are so many things we have to think about. I really appreciate you sharing as it helps hearing that I’m not the only one that feels like this. Thanks and all the best.

  5. Pingback: Not alone in this journey | Journey of an International Pre-Service Teacher

  6. Thank you soooo much for your encouragement. I have 2 children with special needs and find it very difficult at times. It was only last night I was questioning myself Can I do this? is it worth it? When my children are pushed to the side when they have great needs. Its difficult juggling family and study but I tend to do as you say even though my feelings say I can’t keep doing this! I keep pushing on. Thanks again Michelle

Leave a Reply

